emu's early building days

Discussion in 'The Shed' started by emu, Jan 16, 2018.

1. emu

emu Senior Member

I was renting a house at a place called Verrierdale between Noosa and Eumundi when I was a young fella and the owner who was a solicitor in Sydney come to the house one weekend, so we got talking and he discovered I was a carpenter and one thing lead to another.
    He wanted to do a full renovation on the place and he commissioned me to do it for him because I was living there which made a lot of sense to both of us.
    The fella who built it was a German WW2 bunker designer so it was very structurally strong.

It is on 100 acres in a tucked away location and a very sort after area these days, just the driveway is 1 KM from the road to the house which is up high on a mountain with superb views looking west. The only photos I have are printed ones so I've had to take a photo of them with my phone so please excuse the quality.

[​IMG]

You can just see the house up the top in the middle of the photo below

[​IMG]

The house is a ten sided design made from RSJ's as the frame and a formwork concrete verandah all the way around with an open ground level featuring a steel spiral staircase enclosed in a rock wall from the ground floor to the first floor.
    I had to enclose the ground floor and made five bedrooms a big bathroom and the laundry.

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    I put a nice Rosewood Log standing up in the center to transfer the extra weight from the third floor I was yet to build :)

[​IMG]

Thats the floor I built in the middle of the house because from the first floor to the roof in the centre was about 9 meters and you had no way of getting up there to look out the windows and take in the beautiful view. This bloke had plenty of money and spared no expense.

[​IMG]

I fitted a mahogany timber spiral staircase to access the new third floor I just built which come in a kit form and I just had to assemble it on site. $4000 just for the staircase...

[​IMG]