PG / VG types, good and bad?

Discussion in 'General Vaping Discussion' started by Rob, Aug 12, 2019.

1. Rob

Rob Member

I've been buying PG/VG from same guy for about 3 years and happy with it. But this time I bought it of Ebay so I saved $20. It was a combo 2x 1L PG/VG USP grade. I made my normal mix but it tastes harsh and strong flavored, not very mouthful, as if I had too much PG in the mix. I can even taste cotton on my coil which normally I don't. I made 1/2 Liter of the stuff :-(
    I'll have to buy from my dealer after all and dump this. So my questions is about types of VG, I believe some is made from soy and some from palm. I have no idea which type I normally vape.
    And what about PG, is that all the same or it can be different as well? I could just buy my favorite VG from me dealer so I don't waste the PG I all ready got.
    Thanks for any advice.

Last edited: Aug 12, 2019
  2. Noe

Noe Adorably quirky ... QUIRKY Noe! VCA Approved Post Whore

Sounds to me like you've added more PG than you thought you did, because you say it's "harsh & strong flavored", which is characteristic of higher PG in the mix (certainly not a bad thing, some vapers like high PG ratios).
    Is it possible you added an extra measure of PG by mistake?
    Also did you change nic brands from your last batch?
    Nic is another, highly likely, cause for harshness, if you added a little too much or just changed brands or even a different batch from the same brand.

IME, as a vaper & juice maker, I've tried several different types (brands) of VG.
    I've certainly, no doubt, had both palm & soy based VG, while I couldn't tell you which type each brand uses but I have noticed some VG seems to be a bit sweeter than others. Other than that, I am confident that USP grade VG from any source is going to behave the same in an ejuice blend, that is it will thicken the juice & add more cloudiness to the vapor.