1. Call to Action! Vapers, please submit your story to the Federal Inquiry into Ecigs by July 6th, and let's get nicotine legalised: Submit Here

For help with your submission please read This Guide

Dismiss Notice

PG vs VG

Discussion in 'Beginners' started by Gabby, Oct 26, 2016.

1. Gabby

Gabby Member

I'm sure this has been hacked around here a lot, but I'm a newbie and I'm after some simple explanations. I'm very much an MTL vaper and I'm not into cloud chasing or experimenting.

Noe's list suggests buying PG only juices (mainly) and Heavengifts seems to sell mainly PG only or VG only or 70/30. Some other sites mainly sell 50/50.

So what are the pros & cons of using only PG or only VG in my situation? Or varying the mix for that matter?

Pippi and emu like this.
  2. Charles Vaper

Charles Vaper Senior Member

Hi there, Gabby.

Here's what you need to know... PG is a flavour carrier meaning that flavours will be more pronounced when mixed in PG as apposed to VG. PG also provides us with throat hit, (the sensation of the smoke passing through our mouth into our lungs). VG is sweeter and some consider it a safer or more pure alternative.

e liquids made with 100 % VG do not generally offer as much flavour as PG however, most manufacturers will utilise a variety of additives to compensate and or, longer steep time (ageing, much line wine) VG offers a lot of vapour too, far more than PG.

The choice of what to use is purely trial and error however, I prefer to use a 30/70 blend. (30 % PG) Some vapers, myself included, get a slight irritation from higher PG percentages.

The Vaper, Pippi, Noe and 3 others like this.
  3. emu

emu Banned

PG is a thin liquid like water and seems to be good for carrying flavor as well as wetting the wick easier than VG, VG is very thick liquid and tends to make a lot more cloud than PG.